nekter ad banner


The John Gust Athletic Scholarship is a publicly supported memorial established in December 1973 to honor John Gust, class of 1974, an outstanding football player and wrestler who was killed in an auto accident on a skiing trip after football season.

As a junior, John played JV guard, but was determined to become a varsity starter in his senior year. He achieved his goal at center during this championship 1973 season. He not only won his starting spot but was selected as All-Sunset League, All-Coast and All-County as well as “Most Improved.” It is hoped that his dedication and achievement has become an inspiration to all athletes at Newport Harbor High. The six senior finalists from this year’s football squad will be selected at the end of the season by the coaches, using a criteria based on ‘DESIRE’- dedication, enthusiasm, selfsacrifice, improvement, responsibility, excellence – all other factors being equal, improvement is heavily weighed. The young man chosen receives the $500 scholarship toward his college expenses as well as a commemorative plaque. The John Gust Athletic Scholarship is perpetuated by tax deductible contributions, c/o Ev and Marilyn Gust, 27112-A Calle Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675 (949) 234-1249. Or email marilyn.gust@att.net.

Past Recipients of the John Gust Athletic Scholarship

1973-74 Mark Duffy
1974-75 Tom Bazacas
1975-76 Steve Bruno
1976-77 Greg Steverson
1977-78 Doug Brockmeyer
1978-79 Dave Thompson
1979-80 Alan Gaddis
1980-81 Robert Anthony
1981-82 James Kitchens
1982-83 Bill Brown
1983-84 Rich Powers
1984-85 John Spangler
1985-86 Scott Craig
1986-87 Jason Granneman
1987-88 Perry Mason
1988-89 Sean Ellis
1989-90 Don James
1990-91 George Greenwalt
1991-92 Darin Mangnall
1992-93 Justin Ketcham
1993-94 Matt Burns
1994-95 Jack Hogan
1995-96 Ramsey Allen
1996-97 Ian Dorish
1997-98 Garrett Govaars
1998-99 Lance Chavez
1999-00 Kelsey Peterson
2000-01 Jim Erickson
2001-02 Jeff Marshall
2002-03 Jack Skahen
2003-04 Peter Hoyt
2004-05 ChristopherTaylor
2005-06 Louis Truxton
2006-07 Brice Stillman
2007-08 Nathan Talbot
2008-09 Danny Miller
2009-10 Gabe Gomez
2010-11 Kellon Truxton
2011-12 Cory Cablay
2012-13 Marty Taylor
2013-14 Quest Truxton
2014-15 Trevor Shaw
2015-15 Elliott Frye